Tuesday, April 27, 2010

I Too Hate Hipsters

Ever since I met my very first hipster, before I was even aware of the spreading self-proclaimed subculture, I knew I had a strong repulsion to these self-righteous fools. In the interest of empathy, I get it -- no one wants to be boring, unoriginal, and not in the know about what's cool and under-the-radar, but come on, your desperate desire to be different is embarrassing and pretentious. So STOPPIT.

In addition to these wonderful lists that others have compiled and conversations they have started about how hipsters often trigger a gag reflex -- Top 10 Reasons, Die Hipster (I do not feel so strongly that I hope anyone dies, I merely think good points are made here), and Musings on Why I Hate Hipsters -- I thought I'd take some time to vent a little on my own. YAY.
Note: I do not necessarily agree with everything on those sites, for example, I do not like sports. My lack of athleticism and my pride in that is fodder for a different discussion.

I figure at this point, it's not worth mentioning PBR, cigarettes, Veganism, American Apparel or other fashion choices (especially since I do shop there and I also have been known to sport skinny jeans myself). My bigger gripes are less about me giving a sh*t about what hipsters do and more about the fact that they are so constantly perturbed by what other people do/don't do -- again, it's the self-righteousness that really irks me. I should note that the concept of disrupting the status quo is something I am all for and is in fact, something I very much believe I embody myself in many ways (everyone's norm is different, therefore, breaking the norm is different for everyone). I do support the original notion of what it means to be a hipster; it's this new representation of it predominantly through preferences on where to shop or drink coffee that I am commenting on here...

Alrighty, here I go.

~Stop thinking everything is "typical." You all look the same, act the same, like the same things, and truly typify a culture of people with similar beliefs and attitudes... not so different from other groups, eh??

~Just because someone else likes something, that doesn't mean it's uncool or more mainstream or whatever your issue is. I recently had someone imply that, by virtue of my knowing about and liking a particular bar, the place and its owner and patrons (including myself) are evil gentrifiers, unaware of the consequences of opening a new small business in an up-and-coming neighborhood. I've got news for you, all the new little places you like in that area did the exact same thing.

~On the topic of gentrification, you too are guilty of this process by the mere fact of your living or hanging out in an area. Please don't pretend that your biggest concern is not that "yuppies" are infiltrating your neighborhood coffeebar or that you are even aware of the displaced community that's been forced to move to a less desirable neighborhood before you ever heard of your new favorite geographical enclave. They are the ones living on the margins of society, not you.

~This might be a surprise to you, but liking stuff just because no one else does is as stupid as liking stuff just because everyone else does. This shouldn't be that hard to figure out. Don't being so hypocritical.

~If you happen to have spent time overseas, likely in Africa or Southeast Asia, this does not give you free reign to claim that you identify with the developing world or even understand another culture. You do not.

~Lastly, and this is a new one of mine, you're not the only ones who know that the word "political" refers to more than just Obama being president. We aren't stupid, we get that the social is the political. Stop assuming that you are more aware, more informed, more intellectual, or more political than your equally educated peers. You're not, you just like to shamelessly show it off more.

I think I'm done, although I can't promise that this won't be a recurring theme. Phew ;) Night!

1 comment: